Types of Inheritance

Education is not limited to just classrooms. It can be gained anytime, anywhere... - Ravi Ranjan (M.Tech-NIT)

Types of Inheritance

In C++, we have 5 different types of Inheritance. Namely,

  1. Single Inheritance
  2. Multiple Inheritance
  3. Hierarchical Inheritance
  4. Multilevel Inheritance
  5. Hybrid Inheritance (also known as Virtual Inheritance)

Single Inheritance

In this type of inheritance one derived class inherits from only one base class. It is the most simplest form of Inheritance.

Single Inheritance in C++

Multiple Inheritance

In this type of inheritance a single derived class may inherit from two or more than two base classes.

Multiple Inheritance in C++

Hierarchical Inheritance

In this type of inheritance, multiple derived classes inherits from a single base class.

Hierarchical Inheritance in C++

Multilevel Inheritance

In this type of inheritance the derived class inherits from a class, which in turn inherits from some other class. The Super class for one, is sub class for the other.


Multilevel Inheritance in C++

Hybrid (Virtual) Inheritance

Hybrid Inheritance is combination of Hierarchical and Mutilevel Inheritance.

Hybrid Inheritance in C++